Saving images for desktop wallpaper

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro, Quad Core 2.8GHz, 10GB Ram, nVidia 8800GT Video Card, 500GB HDD, and One 16x Super Drive
I'm new to Macs so I'm sorry about asking this very basic question (on Windows I never had this problem, but I'm finding it difficult to get this right on my new Mac). I want to create a folder for desktop images to re-use over time. I'm using Safari and not Firefox or any other non-Mac browser.

Anyway, every time I try to save a wallpaper image (.jpg format) to use for my wallpaper I never can get it to open correctly to use as my desktop wallpaper. When I right click on the image my Mac/system asks me if I want to use as Desktop Image (so that's working fine and I can use the image for the desktop at that moment), but when I save the image in my Downloads folder, and try to open the .jpg image at a later time, I get the preview view, but when I right click I don't get the option to use the image for my "Desktop Image."

So, what am I doing wrong and how do I get this to work.

Thanks!

Reaction score
ok, keep doing what your doing by putting them all in a folder. id make it a separate folder in your systems picture folder.

only don't open them in preview, right click on your background and go to Change Desktop Background... click the + sign towards the left, find said folder, and go from there.

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Pictures I'm keeping for use as backgrounds are saved into the backgrounds folder found at MacIntosh HD/Library/Desktop Pictures.

They can also be organized into folders there. They will then show up in System Preferences/Desktop & Screensaver along with all the default backgrounds.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iPhone 13 (128 GB) iPad Air 3 (256 GB) Refurbed 21.5”iMac 3.6GHz Intel Core i3 w/Retina 4K (1 TB)