Newbie! Help with Photo editing software

Reaction score
I am VERY new to mac and am having problems! shocker right? lol. I do a lot of photo editing and have not been very impressed with iphoto... I have Photoshop cs2 that I was using on my pc, but would like to try and use it on my mac... I have no clue how to use parallels, boot camp, or Vm! I literally have only been able to get online, check mail, and play around with the dock! I did download gimp as I heard it was so great...again, not impressed! A little scared of trying to install a pc program on my new mac... but dearly miss my photoshop!! any ideas?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP/2.53GHz i5/4GB RAM/500GB HDD/15" LED Screen/Intel HD Graphics & NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M
If you want to use bootcamp you need to install a copy of Windows XP or Vista, then install you Photoshop CS2.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15.4" 2.4 Hz 4GB RAM
I bought Parallels and Windows XP and run my old windows software seamlessly on my new Mac (I'm a recent switcher, too). I picked XP as it has a more favorable memory management scheme than Vista does.

I had trouble the first time I installed it because I tried to fuss with it mid-install (I didn't realize it was still running) and had to do it a second time...not a bad glitch and it has run perfectly since installation.

I agree with you that iPhoto seems more like a photo album than a darkroom photo tool. I'm sure it can do a lot once you learn more about it. However, you may want to check out Aperture 2 for a more powerful editing software: Aperture 2 - Apple Store (U.S.)

Reaction score
If you had a current copy of PhotoShop, you could go to Adoe and they would move you over to the MAC versions.

You can also try Elements if they make a MAC version as it will be closest to your PhotoShop in learning curve.