Need a computer for college

Reaction score
I will be going to Iowa State University in the Fall of 2009! And its coming up quickly if I do say so myself. Question is I have no idea what I am needing for a computer... Desktop? Laptop? I *think* very strongly that it is laptop. Here is a link to ISU's requirements for PC and Mac systems, although this is basic.

I'll be in Mechanical Engineering and the computer will have CAD installed at some point throughout the school year. What is recommended? Grab a laptop? How much horsepower does it need?

Help..?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacPro Quad 2.8 w/ 8800GT / Black MacBook 2.16 C2D
If you are entering the Engineering program, This Link may be more appropriate then the one you provided. It seems the college recommends that you use their computers for your engineering work. If you want a personal computer, get one that fits your needs. As a college student myself, I recommend a Laptop over a desktop, so you can take it with you to the library, classes, study sessions, etc. Get an office suite (ISU recommends MS Office), and you should be set.

OP
L
Reaction score
I hadn't found that page, very interesting. Thank you. It doesn't specify Mac versus PC however. I hope the MBP is a college-happy machine?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
It is, but not for engineering. The simple fact that you'll have to use CAD and other engineering programs means that it would be easier if you just bought a Windows machine rather than a Mac and then spending a good portion of your time using Windows via Boot Camp.

OP
L
Reaction score
Aw thats no fun. But as I am planning on laying down 2600-2800 for the MBP, perhaps I could have the best of both worlds no? A windows laptop/desktop and a Macbook for "fun" ?

Someone has to agree with this, I really want to convert to Mac.. lol

Reaction score