HELP..New 2 Mac, clueless & stuck!

Reaction score
Hi
I made the grand switch from a pc to a mac a couple days ago, I brought a ibook g4 from a refurb shop on ebay and I love it, its only got a 100gb memory but its enough for now!
anyhoo, few questions

**How do I set it up so when I switch it on it asks for a password
**I have changed the account name but sometimes it will show up as nopassword? how do I change that!
**I just downloaded some add ons from the mac site, icons and a screen saver but how on earth do I set them up to use on the mac?
**can I delete safari from the dock and have firefox as my main default browser?
I think thats it for now!!

Love mac! never want to use a PC again!

Ooo photo editing programs thats not gimp???!!!

thank you

lush nova :Cool:

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MacBook Pro, 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, Blue Hardshell Case
I think I can answer a few, provided you're running Leopard. I'm not sure if you can on an iBook or not, I'm not good with the past computers and OSes.

But anyway
1. Go to System Preferences>Security and from there you can control whether or not you want a password to unlock it when it wakes up from sleep. If you need to set up a password go to accounts.

2. Go to System Prefs>Accounts and check to make sure you have a password

3. Not quite sure on that one, I know a little about it, but I don't want to confuse you because I'm not sure.

4. Drag Safari off the dock and it should 'poof' away. When you open Firefox it will ask you to make it your default browser. Click yes.

If you're not running Leopard, then disregard the above.

Hope I helped and enjoy your Mac!

Reaction score
Glad your happy with your mac.
To change icons: