Any bass players?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac 2.66 GHz... Running 10.5.7
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook(3,1): C2D 2.2ghz, 4g RAM, 10.7.5; iMac(12,1): 2.5ghz i5, 16gb RAM, 10.9.1; iPhone5S iOS7.04
I'm an amateur hobbyist bass player myself, and I'm guessing that for your purposes that should be fine...you don't need a 4-digit instrument (then again, basses pretty much all sound the same to me, so as long as they don't break in half, anything is good to me!) for someone looking for something that "isn't perfect." For a similar price you can also get an inexpensive Fender Squier package as well...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP/2.53GHz i5/4GB RAM/500GB HDD/15" LED Screen/Intel HD Graphics & NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M
Looks pretty good. The bass is a copy of a Fender Precision so you can't really go wrong with that and most of these copy's are pretty well made these days. 15Watt amp should be OK for a jamming but obviously bigger gigs require bigger amps! You get everything with it and it's about £100 in the UK which is what I would expect to pay for a starter set.
I'd go for it - Looks like a nice starting kit and it'll probably last a while to.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook 2.4GHz, 4Gb Ram, 2008 white
The only comment I have on the starter basses is the pickup system. They have the split style pickup (not a bad thing), however I recommend getting one with two pickups.

I own an Oscar Schmidt by Washburn. It has a single coil and a split to give it a good range of sound, rather than a limited one if you get just 1 pickup.

I've played bass for over 5 years now and still have the bass I started out on. I've played in small gigs with my little 50 watt amp, to large concerts (in the context of my small town ;P) of 500 people, and it's been used for studio recording as well.