FAT32 Iomega Screenplay HD

Reaction score
Hi Mac brethren! :)

If someone is willing to guide me I would greatly appreciate it.

I purchased the Iomega screenplay HD 500GB thinking everything would go smooth with watching movie on my TV by just connecting this cool little device after movie compatible movie files to it.

Boy was I wrong!:[

1st off I am fairly new to mac. In fact I bought my iMAC about 2 months ago so ya, I am still a rookie.

Anywho, apparently MAC does not work with NTSC so I scouted out this guide that said I can reformat the drive so it would actually work with my iMAC.

It did in fact work. I can move files over to the drive now (though it takes about 30 min to move a 1GB .avi file) but when I hook it up to my TV the drive appears to be blank.

I'm worried that reformatting go by, even though I was able to move files over eventually did not actually make it FAT32 which everything I read said it needs to be.

Has anyone done this process before. Am I on the right path?

Any help I would GREATLY appreciate. If not I suppose I can just use it as an external hard drive but I would like to get full use out of this darn thing if possible.

Thanks in advance.

-Rock

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
1. NTFS was the format of the drive - NTSC is the video standard for TV's in the U.S.

2. No, your Mac cannot write to NTFS natively. There are a couple of paid apps and at least one free app that will allow your Mac to write to NTFS. They can be found with a little searching of the forum.

System Requirements
The Iomega ® ScreenPlay™ HD Multimedia Drive is designed for use with the following PC operating systems: Microsoft® Windows® 2000 Professional, XP Home/XP Professional/XP Professional x64, Windows Vista™.