Which laptop to get?

Reaction score
Hello!

I am new to this forum as you can see! I require some help....

Im normally a PC man but since my degree uses linux and unix for programming i thought I might as well stray away from my PC and get a laptop just for working on.

My degree is game programming and i need a basic laptop to program on. At the moment im not making any high end 3D graphical games at most they will be 2D.

The thing i need help with is which laptop to buy... I dont want to spend to much money as im a poor student all the time but i do want it to be good. The thing that throws me is the different types of laptops there are for mac... iBook iMac etc...

So any advice on which sort of laptop to buy would be very much appriciated :)

I dont really want to spend any more then 500 pounds.

Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.4ghz 24" Imac
Hello!

I am new to this forum as you can see! I require some help....

Im normally a PC man but since my degree uses linux and unix for programming i thought I might as well stray away from my PC and get a laptop just for working on.

My degree is game programming and i need a basic laptop to program on. At the moment im not making any high end 3D graphical games at most they will be 2D.

The thing i need help with is which laptop to buy... I dont want to spend to much money as im a poor student all the time but i do want it to be good. The thing that throws me is the different types of laptops there are for mac... iBook iMac etc...

So any advice on which sort of laptop to buy would be very much appriciated :)

I dont really want to spend any more then 500 pounds.

Thanks!