New To Mac

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac Alum - 24" Display - 4GB RAM
Happy New Year Everyone

Well, I'm new here and this is my first post. So far I'm impressed since I just ordered my new iMac yesterday (12/30) and Fed EX was on my porch today (12/31) with my new toy. The machine itself is pretty slick. Not knowing much about iMac's I expected a tower to also accompany the monitor and when I opened the box, I was bummed thinking the driver forgot the tower. So when I finally realized what I had, I was pretty stoked...thinking more room....no more tower...no more bunches of wires etc. So I started playing and I gotta say this is going to be an adventure + learning curve.

I was strictly raised on Windows and I can honestly say I feel like I did when I got my first computer. I do photography professionally (my website Frank Lauri Photography) in my spare time (I think it's spare time) and I'm scratching my head. When I ordered, I was going to get PS Elements and the tech said they were having a special on CS 4 Extended for $169 (full version) so I jumped at that.

My son is a Mac user and he directed me to this site and basically I'm hoping for any information that can make my transition as painless as possible. I realize probably most of what I need to know is buried somewhere in these posts.....but since I'm so new to this, I'm not even sure what to look for and even ask about.

So for those who have been in my shoes at one time or another, if there is anything that you think I need to know...please point me in that direction.

Thank You In Advance
Frank Lauri

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15.4" 2.4g, 4gb Ram | iPod Touch 8GB
Welcome Frank!!!

I'm still pretty new at this too, also having used windows most of my computer life. The curve isn't that steep. Poke around, you will find lots of stuff.