Copying data CDs - help

Reaction score
Newbie - Some primers - help - copying.

I'm new to Mac. Made the switch and although the os is friendly, I'd hardly call it intuitive. Some things make sense, some don't. Let's agree that it's different.

I'm running a new generation Macbook Pro. 10.5.6

1) I would like to know how to make backups of disks - data discs (ie. programs). I've tried everything that I can think of that makes sense. Now I need you guys because I simply cannot figure it out.

2) Also, is it possible to speed-up cursor travel in a document? It seems AWFULLY slow no matter where I happen to be entering text.

3) Do I have to have a folder in either the DOCK or on the DESKTOP if I want to copy (save) images off of the web? If not, how do I create AND place said files?

Any and all help will be appreciated.

I made the switch out of necessity - I do a lot of magazine work and got fed up of being the only guy in the room with a PC (when things go wrong, they'd all blame me). Anyway, here I am and there you go.

Peace, Love, & Bananas

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook (Black) 2.4 GHz, 4GB Ram
I'm new to Mac. Made the switch and although the os is friendly, I'd hardly call it intuitive. Some things make sense, some don't. Let's agree that it's different.

I'm running a new generation Macbook Pro. 10.5.6

1) I would like to know how to make backups of disks - data discs (ie. programs). I've tried everything that I can think of that makes sense. Now I need you guys because I simply cannot figure it out.

2) Also, is it possible to speed-up cursor travel in a document? It seems AWFULLY slow no matter where I happen to be entering text.

3) Do I have to have a folder in either the DOCK or on the DESKTOP if I want to copy (save) images off of the web? If not, how do I create AND place said files?

Any and all help will be appreciated.