Should i switch? new guy here...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MacBook Pro Unibody - 2.53GHz/4GB/320GB HDD
Hey, so yesterday I received word via the Geek Squad that my Asus laptop PC motherboard is fried and is not worth fixing, since it will be over $1000. I have been contemplating getting a Macbook Pro for a couple of years, but i am hesitant about spending $2800 after taxes on it.

I can buy a similar Dell XPS for about $2300.

In my mind, i think that Apples last a whole lot longer than PCs on the average...am i right? (obviously since this is a mac forum, i expect a bit of a biased response)

I need a performance computer because I need to run AutoCAD, and i am a bit spoiled when it comes to computer speed.

Basically, is it worth spending the extra money to buy a mac?

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Just want to point out that Autocad does not run on OSX so you would have to use Windows on the Mac. Whatever you do, don't purchase a Mac just to run Windows. The only reason I own any Macs is OSX. If I were just going to run Windows I would get that Dell as it's a great machine.

For me I love OSX for all that I do so it was worth it for me to buy a Mac.

You can run AutoCad if you install say Parallels and Windows on the Mac right in a window inside OSX and do everything else on OSX.

Just wanted to point that out in case you did not know. There are other CAD programs for OSX but if you for sure need AutoCad, there is no substitute that is totally compatible.

Reaction score
I'm new to Macs (only had one for 2 months), but I can tell you that the initial price difference is only the beginning. If your autocad program is not a Mac version, you will either need to buy a new version for Mac, or load Windows onto the Mac.