Is it right for me?

D

darthmahon

Hi,

Ok so like alot of other people, I am considering the switch. I won't however, be getting rid of my PC, so I will still have that. However, I like the idea of the Mini, I could get a switch that allows me to run only one monitor between the two, great.

But, will it do what I need? I am a web designer, so I'm sure it's fine for Dreamweaver, Flash, Photoshop, Illustrator etc, but from time to time I do video editing - on my PC I use Premier. However, I would like to use Final Cut Pro/Express - they seem more friendly imo.

I also do 3d animation in Cinema 4D from time to time.

So, at the end of the day, I don't mind parting with £500 for the mac, as long as it's going to be able to do what I need. I really want to switch from Windows to OSX, so I want to be able to work from the mac and play from the PC.

Anyone have any thoughts on what my options are? My current home PC is as follows:

AMD Athlon XP 1800+
512 DDR PC2700
ATI 9600 Pro 128mb
Windows XP Professional

I know you can't compare the systems, but how will it fair roughly against my current machine? I know the OSX environment is nicer etc, but when it comes down to it, for speed of applications/rendering, is it worth it compared to my current machine?

Alternatively, could I do the following?

Get a G5.

Use my existing mouse and keyboard - don't like apples.

Get a KVM Switch that will allow me to run my mouse, keyboard and monitor(on the G5) for both the Mac and PC?

Is that correct? Anyone know any good KVM switches that will do the trick? Using the Logitech LX700 Cordless Keyboard and Optical Mouse.

Cheers,
Chris

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G5•2x1.8•1.5•320•8x+/-
darthmahon said:
Is that correct? Anyone know any good KVM switches that will do the trick? Using the Logitech LX700 Cordless Keyboard and Optical Mouse.

any USB KVM switch will work.