Is 'Overclocking' a pc thing?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.93GHz Quad-core Intel Xeon processor RuningSnoLeopard v 10.6.4 DDRe
Or is it used mainly by thoes interested in 'tweakin' the pc for gaming fun.
I would think that for image editing just your system RAM is sufficient. Unless on is working under lightening-fast deadlines or with huge files.........Is it analogous to...er, say pushin' th ASA?

D

Desolate One

Well I'm very new to Macs myself so I don't know much info on the IBM G5, let alone how to go about getting another one or installing one if it gets destroyed. So just in that respect yes, I'd say it's a PC thing.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G4 1Ghz OS X 10.4.7
Overclocking is as I understand it is done by re wiring jumpers on a CPU. With added cooling it can be ok, but I don't like the idea

D

Desolate One

witeshark said:
Overclocking is as I understand it is done by re wiring jumpers on a CPU. With added cooling it can be ok, but I don't like the idea

Either adjusting the clock multiplier or FSB speed. Now a days it's not via jumpers but within the BIOS.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G4 1Ghz OS X 10.4.7
Desolate One said:
Either adjusting the clock multiplier or FSB speed. Now a days it's not via jumpers but within the BIOS.
Nice to know, thanks!

OP
ajresovsky
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.93GHz Quad-core Intel Xeon processor RuningSnoLeopard v 10.6.4 DDRe
But WHAT IS the purpose?-better resoulution,faster scene chaange? WHAT?!??!!?

Reaction score
ajresovsky said:
But WHAT IS the purpose?-better resoulution,faster scene chaange? WHAT?!??!!?

Faster processing. Overclocking is just running a processor faster than the speed it was designed to run at. I used to have an Athlon XP 2500+ which runs at 1.83 ghz, but I could run it at 2.2ghz just fine with the same stock cooling.