• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

Capture video from camcorder

Reaction score
Hi,
I am a Mac newbie.....
I have just bought my firm Mac, an iMac. I have a sony handycam HC44 and I am trying to caputer video footage with iMovie08 (looked very easy at the applestore).
I am using the firewire cable purchased from Sony (4pin to 6pin).
iMovie08 does not appear to recognise my camcorder, in fact the only device it does recognise when I try to caputure / import is the icamera.

Any ideas? Any help would be great...

Thanks in advance
Paul
:(

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro, 2.2Ghz, 4GB Memory, 120GB HDD, LCD Display, OS X Tiger
Sony's don't have a great reputation for compatibility with macs. You can google your model number with some other keywords to see if others using iMovie are having any success.

Reaction score