I really just want to know what's legal

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Alright, my thread was closed, and maybe this is in bad taste, but I legitimately do not understand why using an upgrade disc is illegal. It is built into the functionality of those discs to install to a fresh hard drive. It asks for proof of ownership of a previous version, and in fact websites all over the internet strongly encourage a fresh install as opposed to upgrading over a previous OS. Why should it be any different just because the computer is a Mac? I am still a loyal Microsoft customer who has bought multiple versions of windows and other programs.

I am not a lawyer, and it would give me no great pleasure to memorize the EULA, but I do not see how using a function built into the normal process of the installation can be considered legal on a PC and illegal on a mac. It just does not make sense to me. One of the moderators quoted that the EULA for an upgrade disc states that it is to only be applied to a Windows based operating system. Regardless if that is written or not, why would it be written that way and then put into action another way by blatantly allowing returning customers to do clean installs?

I am sitting here with 2, 100% legitimate windows releases. And you are telling me it is illegal to do on my mac what I can do on my PC right now free and clear? I am sure this thread is going to get closed, but that is unfortunate because I am actually confused. You have already dissuaded me from trying -- I dont want to break the law. But even by what has been said, it does not appear illegal to me. It just appears inconvenient because of how the eject button works on a mac.