Weekly/Monthly Need Tos?

Reaction score
hey guys im new here and i just got my first mac based laptop i got the black macbook. I was wondering, since I'm new to the world of macs, are there any important things i need to do weekly or monthly like maintenance, updates etc..?

Reaction score
Blogging about good deals on apple stuff. Come vi
Welcome to both the world of Macs and to the forum.

1. Make sure you set up and use Time Machine
2. Get a copy of Disk Warrior and run it every couple of months to keep your file system in order
3. You can run a permissions repair via disk utility, but it's not a major thing as it only repairs permission on some items.
4. A copy of "The Missing Manual" by David Pogue is a great resource to have - he even includes a chapter on switching.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
Welcome to both the world of Macs and to the forum.
1. Make sure you set up and use Time Machine
4. A copy of "The Missing Manual" by David Pogue is a great resource to have - he even includes a chapter on switching.

Definitely do those two, free software like MainMenu will take care of general maintenance, tho OS X does a fairly good job of self maintaining

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.4 GHz Blackbook, 4GB memory, 250GB HD
Can someone please tell me what the purpose of Disk Warrior? Sorry Im still a noob.

OP
P
Reaction score
yes can someone tell us the purpose of Disk Warrior and also I'm trying to setup time machine and its asking to find an apple wireless and i don't have time capsule so how can i back it up?

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
yes can someone tell us the purpose of Disk Warrior and also I'm trying to setup time machine and its asking to find an apple wireless and i don't have time capsule so how can i back it up?