Mbp Srsly!

Reaction score
I have been playing with the idea of getting a mac book pro for the last year and a half... and now that I just missed the deadline for the free ipod touch I am now serious about buying on errr...

There is a mac store 20 minutes from my house and I have an appointment to go look at them on Tuesday...

I am a student and I am planning on getting a 2.5ghz 17" mbp with the high res glossy monitor (unless it just doesn't impress me when I'm in the store)

I am cheap, but when the base mbp is 1800 it makes sense to me to spend 800 more for the better monitor more power and all the extras...

A couple of questions...
1.) Can I install my Microsoft Office 2003 Student edition onto it or would I have to buy a mac specific version?
2.) Will the mbp come with a word processor on it, or will I have to buy something?
3.) If I don't get MS, does anyone know if there is a free download to just open a power point to view it and print it?

Thanks ya'll!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook, iPod Classic, 8GB 3G iPhone, Time Capsule
1. You need a Mac version, unless you install Windows to run it, via Bootcamp, or Parallels or VMWare Fusion.
2. I think you'll have the iWork '08 trial on it, but nothing more.
3. I think that you can still do that with the iWork trial after it expires... but I'm not so sure on that one and I can't think of another app off the top of my head.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Al iMac 20" 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
1.) You'd need a Mac version. Office 08 is the newest (04 doesn't run natively on Intel Macs). Windows software doesn't work on Macs, unless you install Windows on them.

2.) No, it just comes with a basic text editor. You'd need to buy iWork or Office, or download OpenOffice for free. It does come with iLife though - http://www.apple.com/ilife/

3.) OpenOffice has the lot, for free. Leopard will Quickview Powerpoint files natively though I believe.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs