Should I get a Mac?

Reaction score
I'm caught in a dilemma between Mac and PC. I figured if anywhere I should go here for answers. I'll give you a bit of background on what I do and then I'd appreciate suggestions. I'm a college student majoring in Computer Technology, which at my school is a mix of Computer Engineering and Computer Science. My career choice I'm not sure on yet. I was considering Systems Analyst. I'd use my laptop for web design, programming, and occasionally gaming (WoW, Half-Life 2, etc..) I'd like a decent sized screen so I was considering a Macbook Pro. Price isn't too much of a factor, I am more concerned with what would last me longer in my education choice. Which one would benefit me more.

Once again I would appreciate any suggestions, especially from people close to my field.

Thanks in advance.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.
I'm a former systems administrator, systems engineer and now work in hardware engineering. In my opinion it really doesn't matter, you can use either. I've worked in the same job in both environments and over all working in a unix environment it really is easier for me to use a Mac, simply because I don't have to 'change environments' at any point in time. Terminal is bash, and well.. I'm pretty comfortable there.

Now, what is your focus going to be? Are you working more with windows software engineering or more on the *nix side (if nothing else as a personal choice).

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.6GHz Core i7 15" MacBook Pro - 8GB DDR3 SDRAM - 750GB 7200 RPM HDD - GeForce 650M GT 1GB VRAM