Background-less windows are making me nuts...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15" 2.5ghz 4gb
Hi guys.... New switcher but thoroughly enjoying my Mac experience thus far.... As a professional photographer I am a little embarrassed that I kept finding excuses to not give MAC a try a while back...

I do however have 1 pet-peeve and I have tried everywhere to find a answer / solution to no avail .. I am sure that there is likely an easy answer out there but having not been able to find it has doubled my frustration I think... Here's the crux....

~ ~ When I open a application - PS CS3 for example - it opens in only what I can describe as an "frameless window" ... Meaning that I can see all the menu bars and palettes but there is no background in the void space between - meaning that without a file open I can see my desktop in the blank area of the app - which I find very odd visually when working on a photo that doesn't completely fill the void or when stacking various images...

Sooo.... Is there an easy way that I can get OSX to open these type of applications in a way so that the desktop doesn't show through the background void ?????

Thanks in advance...

Cheers,

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Unibody MacBook 2.4GHz/4GB Ram/320GB HD
For some applications, this is exactly how they behave on a Mac. Personally I've just got used to it rather than trying to force things to work like Windows.

OP
H
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15" 2.5ghz 4gb
Thanks Khris...

For now I am opening those applications on my dual monitor which I have set the background to a neutral grey... At least that way it's less disconcerting..

In the field I will just have to live with it or temporarily disable my background and set it to black or 18% grey...

Just wish I didn't have to "work around it" as opposed to tailor it to my liking - I don't think it's a Windoze thing BTW more a VISUAL DISTRACTION thing....

Cheers,