Programmer thinking of switching

Reaction score
I'm currently a Windows / linux user, I'm thinking of switching to a Mac yet I am not totally convinced.

I work as a programmer for a media development company, I use a Pc at work however I am in the minority that do so. I am told quite often that I should switch from my 'horrible' windows to a 'nice' mac. I'm always somewhat hessitant due to several reasons, however I recently bought a new iPhone 3G and have been fairly impressed. Apart from a whole episode or two with the iTunes store and bonding to a machine I didnt want it to my iPhone has been great. So I have been thinking about getting a mac.

Now I have a few issues with this, for every reason they give me to switch I can think of atleast one reason not to in rebuttal.

eg:

No Virus's on a Mac: I use no anti-virus software and have never had a virus on my pc (or any of my previous pc's) in the last 10 years. I'm a power user I know where the risks are for such things and know how to avoid them.

The software you use is available on a mac too: Yes it is, it also costs to buy those licences again. I dont want to re-invest hundreds in software I already own. But in particular there is certain software there isnt a good equivalent mac version (TortiseSVN jumps to mind)

You get a powerful nix* commandline: I use cygwin or Windows Power Shell already.

Shiny Screens! : The 24" screens are nice... however the Dell ultrasharp 24" are just as nice and have more peripherals and are cheaper.

Now my main worrys are these:

• Value for Money - I think this jumps to mind first. For the same price as a top of the line iMac, I can build a MUCH better equivalent PC. I could source the components myself and ensure every part is built to my specifications. It would be tailored to exactly what I want.