Do I want a MBP or an iMac?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac 3.06GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB RAM, 1 TB HD, ATI Radeon HD 4670 256 MB, Bootcamp 3.0
I've been struggling with this decision all summer since I lost my computer when my house burned down in April. I've got some insurance money now because of the fire, and I've narrowed my choice down to the 17-inch: 2.5GHz MBP or the 24-inch: 3.06GHz iMac. The difficulty in this choice for me is mobility vs. price and hardware specs. I would like to have a laptop so I can take it to school and beyond, but I would also like to avoid a $3000+ purchase, even though I now have twice that in my bank account (I'm a poor college student who will be jobless when school starts). I also like what's inside the iMac more, as I'm into gaming and I'd like to have something that will run games that come out in next couple of years at higher graphic settings (like Diablo 3 and Starcraft 2). I was on the verge of purchasing the MBP a week ago because I was leaning towards mobility, but then I read the reports pertaining to the screwed up Nvidia 8600 that is seems to be overheating, so now I am re-considering the iMac. I need to make my purchase within a week or two, so I won't be waiting for the remodeled MBP.

If anyone has any advice that might assist me in making the most expensive purchase of my life, I'd be much obliged. Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Al iMac 20" 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
I'm not sure we can really!

It's a decision only you can make really.

Personally, I don't need mobility and hate small laptop screens. But you might think differently.

They're both great machines.

OP
nmccready
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac 3.06GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB RAM, 1 TB HD, ATI Radeon HD 4670 256 MB, Bootcamp 3.0
I know the decision is mine I'm just looking for opinions and advice that might help, thanks.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15-inch MacBook Pro