External HD

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
24" iMac 2.8, 20" iMac 2.4
I am a Windows professional who recently made the switch and bought two iMacs (20" and 24"). I love them. My daughter got the 20" and I got the 24" :D Well now that I have had them a few weeks, I am getting ready to move completely off my old Dell. The problem is my Dell had an eSata drive and I added a sweet 500 GB External Sata to it. I would like to be able to use that drive on my Mac but it doesn't seem to have any external Sata configuration. Why is that? Sata is without a doubt better than USB or Firewire. I would assume there moust be something I am missing. Is there a hack or some solution for attaching a Sata drive to my Mac?

If not, I assume the next best choice is Firewire. I do have a few smaller USB and Firewire drives. I would really hate to have to downgrade to Fireiwre or USB.

Any help would be most welcome.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook, iPod Classic, 8GB 3G iPhone, Time Capsule
Sorry, I think you're going to need to get some class of SATA - USB or Firewire interface, I've never seen a computer with an external SATA interface.

OP
V
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
External Sata

Sorry, I think you're going to need to get some class of SATA - USB or Firewire interface, I've never seen a computer with an external SATA interface.

When I bought the external Sata drive it came with a cable that you could plug into the Sata port and then put it into one of the slots in the back of the computer. Then you plug the external drive into that external slot. I also have seen other PCs with an external Sata slot.

Since Sata is a bus speed connection, it is just like having an internal drive. In fact, on my Dell, the external drive was faster than my internal. In tests, it moved data at a much higher rate.

Since I take a lot of photos, I need a large amount of storage and I would prefer the fastest access to that storage possible.

OP
V
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs