Forced mac user here...

Reaction score
I'm a college student and as you can tell by my handle, I like to game. Unfortunately, I'm at school most of the time, and don't really have the time to fire up my desktop. Last week my laptop fried while playing Counter-Strike Source. I told my folks about my laptop dying on me, and they agreed to send me the cash for a new one. Yesterday though, after talking to a friend's daughter, who loves macs btw, they just ordered a macbook for me. :(

2ghz core 2 duo, 2 gigs of ram, 160gb HD. Unfortunately, It's gonna be a little difficult to play games on it.

But I was wondering, if I ran bootcamp, how well would games such as GuildWars, Civilization 4, Team Fortress 2, and Counter Strike Source run?

tl;dr : will bootcamp run some older games halfway decent?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
They'll run perhaps at low to medium settings. The Macbook has integrated graphics, so you can't really expect stellar graphics on it. However, I'm fairly certain you'll enjoy it as an everyday work computer while using your desktop for gaming (that's what I do and it's been great)

OP
I
Reaction score
That's the problem. I don't have time to use my desktop for gaming. During the week I'm out the door at 6 in the morning, and I don't get home usually till after 10 at night. I use the breaks between classes and projects to get a small gaming session in.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.6GHz Core i7 15" MacBook Pro - 8GB DDR3 SDRAM - 750GB 7200 RPM HDD - GeForce 650M GT 1GB VRAM