Installing Firefox

Reaction score
Hi everyone, total noob here after many years on the PC platform. Last Mac I had was a PPC 8600 running System 8 or something like that....

Anyway, I'm using a Macbook with Leopard 10.5 right out of the box this morning and I had a question about installing software.

I found out that Safari and an online app I need don't seem to play nice together, so I surf out and get Firefox. Problem solved, but...

On my desktop, now I have the little icon of firefox and it doesn't seem to want to go away. I've ejected it, but it's come back.

In my Applications folder, I now have two items for Firefox because I thought by dragging the image off the Desktop to the Application folder, it would go away.... duh.... I'm dumb, dude.

I'd like to clear this up so my new baby can be neat and clean.

Any suggestions? I hope I've been clear. I'm shaking the cobwebs out over here....

Great computer btw, I can see already that my productivity will go way up with the high level of integration on the Mac.

I just need to understand the process.

Kind Regards, Ken

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook, iPod Classic, 8GB 3G iPhone, Time Capsule
Erm, I'd quit Firefox, get rid of the two in your Applications folder, then double click on the icon on your desktop and drag the Firefox icon within to you Applications folder. Then eject the desktop one, go back to Applications and double click on that one...

If that made any sense? If so, it covers most bases!

T

todd51

Whenever you download an application, it is always a .dmg file. That is what mounts on your desktop.