Need Help - Parallels or VM Fusion

P

Prosdo

I am very new to the Mac world and am loving it. I recently bought a Macbook Pro. I have a couple of Windows programs I would like to install on my Macbook. I have Adobe Photoshop, Quicken 2008, and Microsoft Office. What is best to use for this? Also I heard of Virtual Box. I am just looking for the best product to use. Also if I want to remove Windows is that difficult? Thank you.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook, iPod Classic, 8GB 3G iPhone, Time Capsule
Shouldn't be diffcult to remove.

I'd suggest downloading the 30 day trial versions of both and seeing which you like best. Remember that running a program in Fusion or Parallels isn't going to be as fast as running it natively - you're running two operating systems, effectively halving the resources each one has available to it.

OP
P

Prosdo

That's not a problem. I won't be using Windows much. Just to check my banking and write school papers. Do I need to install anti-virus on Windows or no because it is not booting solely in Windows? Thanks.

Reaction score
Virus

Well the Windows "Virtual Machene" might still get a virus, but it wont affect OS-X which will be your main operating system.

OP
P

Prosdo

Thanks for the reply. I'm going to try and install one of them when I get home from work tonight. Thanks guys.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
macbook pro, 2.5ghz. 4g ram, 512 vid card. 15" screen 250g harddrive
you want to run parallels to check your banking and write a school paper? wouldnt It be easier to get Word for mac? and im surprised theres nothing like quicken for mac.....

OP
P

Prosdo

i already have the software for PC. To buy Quicken, Office, and Photoshop for Mac would be like 300+ dollars.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.5ghz, 4gb/r, 200g7.2krpm
I like VMware its faster.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15", 2.33 GHz, 2Gb