Considering buying a MacBook

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
white MacBook - 2.16GHz, 2GB RAM, 500GB HD iPhone Specs: white 3GS - 32GB
Hello everyone, this is my first post so don't mind me sounding like a total noob.

Anyway, I've always been a Windows user ever since I've used a computer and I've been thinking that now it's time for me to make the switch. The computer I'd most likely to get is the bottom of the line MacBook, simply because of its price. I am going into my last year of high school and then university four years after that so I have to save as much money as I can. Its features are not bad, i.e. a 120GB hard drive is enough for me and of course comes with the latest OS X. One of the main features that triggered my decision to my next notebook being a Mac is Boot Camp. One thing that does concern me however is of problems I've heard regarding Apple computers, e.g. I have heard multiple times of hard drive failures and about the computer not waking up after sleep. So I have a few questions:

1: If I install XP with Boot Camp, will it run exactly as if it were XP or are there any sort of limitations on using Windows operating systems on an Apple machine?

2: The problems I have heard of, are they common or easily fixed?

3: Do you for any reason not recommend me the base model MacBook?

4: I've never seen anywhere stating approximately how many hours the battery lasts, so how is the battery life?

Any other info I should know about making the switch would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook(W) 2GHz, 80GB HD, 1G RAM, Windows XP
1. if you install XP with bootcamp, it won't be "exactly like as if it were XP" it will actually be a pc running XP, it is the exact same as taking a dell laptop and putting XP on it. Bootcamp just helps bridge the hardware/software gap