Wanted: Opinions on iMac vs. MacBook

Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I'm new to these forums, as this is in fact my first post. I apologize in advance, if this is posted in the wrong place. Please, any mod's, move it to where it belongs.

But anyway, I'm new to the whole Apple experience. So new, in fact, that I still don't own any Apple products! But that'll, change, just as soon as I get a job. Until then: speculation and preparation.

I'm torn, trying to decide between a MacBook:
http://store.apple.com/us/browse/home/shop_mac/family/macbook?mco=MTE3MjA
(Stock 2.1GHz, except for adding an additional Gig of RAM.)

And an iMac:
http://store.apple.com/us/browse/home/shop_mac/family/imac?mco=MTE3MDM
(Stock 2.4GHz, except for adding an additional Gig of RAM.)

At first, I was leaning toward the iMac. Then, after looking at each for a while, I started to lean toward the MacBook. I finally realized that I should stop basing my decision purely on looks and experience with other computers, and let folks with experience tell me which is better for me.

I plan on using it for light-medium gaming, including Counter-Strike:Source, the whole Half-Life2 series, amongst other things from VALVe, as well as World of Warcraft. I also plan on using it for regular computer uses, and might get into video/photo/music editing later on.

Some portability would be nice as well. The iMac doesn't look that hard to pack up and move, although it's obviously not going to be as portable as the MacBook.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
rMBP 15" / 2.6GHz / 16GB / 512GB
You want us to choose for you ? :)

Okay then, if it was my choice i would select the MacBook Pro, with the fastest CPU. Short on cash ? Save up a month or two then get it.

You say you would like the mobility and the MacBook Pro is a bit more mobile than the iMac. You can also play WoW, and Valves games quite good on the MacBook Pro.

Ultimately you have to make the choice yourself, mobile, or not mobile ? :)

OP
ApertureTS