Confused Potential Mac Buyer

Reaction score
I am going to be a senior in college and surprise, surprise, my Dell PC is beyond repair. I got a new motherboard and HD for it and it is still beyond hope.

So, as enter my senior year, I am looking for a notebook that will serve me well. I've listed some of my needs below and am wondering whether I should purchase a MB or a MBP. Any input would be greatly appreciated!

So, here's some info that my help:

1.) I need a transition notebook, something that will serve me for my last two semesters of coursework, then student teaching, and then though my first semester of teaching. (We're talking about 2.5 years).

2.) I am an avid photographer, but I am not a pro by any means.

3.) I will need some MS Office applications such as Word, Excel, and PPT for school and work.

4.) I like speed, but then again, I've been living with this system for so long that I don't know whether I would notice the difference between the MB and the MBP.

5.) I need low-maintenence. I am not a super-tech-savvy person.

6.) Durability is important to me. I don't throw my computer around, but I am on-the-go frequently.

Also, is AppleCare worth its price?

Thanks so much for your help! Feel free to

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
1) Macs generally last a long time (there are always exceptions) But a Macbook will easily last over that - My own mac is approaching its 6th birthday

2) You have most of what you need on the mac, you can even install GIMP if you cannot afford photoshop. Also , macs come with a default screen gamma of 1.8, better for photo-retouching

3), you can either Buy office for Mac, use Apple's iWork suite or use the open source NeoOffice suite

4) you will only really notice the difference between a MB and MBP if you use 3D programs, Video Renderers or intensive 3D games