My first iBook

A

alf

Just bought my first iBook 2 days ago...
Another switch from Microsoft Windows to :mac:

I have a few questions regarding Mac and my iBook.
1. I found that the left side of the touch pad is quite hot after awhile, is it normal?
2. Can anyone suggest me a mac tutorial website since I am totally new to Mac.
3. I tried to install a application using dmg file but then I wanted to delete the dmg file, the application also got deleted? Meaning I have to keep the dmg file and the shortcut on my desktop as well? I found it's annoying for doing that... :(
4. I tried to take out the battery and power on my iBook with the power adaptor but I find that the clock is no longer working. The iBook doen't have it's own cell battery for the clock to work and it need the iBook battery all the time?

Appreciate all replies...
Thanks.

rman

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14in MacBook Pro M1 Max 32GB 2TB
I'll take number three. The .dmg file is a disk image. Once you have it on your desktop, open it up and copy the application to where you want it. After you have copied the application to the desired locate you can remove/delete the .dmg file my either unmounting it or my dragging it to the trash can.

rman

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14in MacBook Pro M1 Max 32GB 2TB
Looking at number four. If I understand you right. You remove the battery and the power adapter cord. You would loose the clock setting if this is done. One of the items need to be plugged in.

OP
A

alf

First of all, thanks for the reply.

About the battery, meaning there is no internal cell battery to power the clock? I took out the battery when using power cord, this is due to the reason that if I plug in the power cord, it will keep recharging my ibook battery and from what I know about IBM laptop, this will shortened the life of the laptop battery. Correct me if I am wrong.