Stubborn icon on Desktop

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" alum iMac 2.4 3 gigs ram
As a newbie I may have downloaded a file intended for windows somehow. I have an hard drive looking icon on my desktop which returns when I reboot or turn on the computer in the morning even after clicking eject. It does disappear when I do that and nothing shows in the trash but is back on the desktop on the next startup. The name of the icon says "NO NAME" in caps. When I double click it a box comes up with 3 items in it. One says "iStar.exe, the second shows "iStar+userManual_English.pdf and the third item says: Autorun.inf
The box with these 3 items shows finder in the menu bar. I've trashed the 3 items individually and eject the No Name Icon on the desktop, but the next day they are back. Trashing the items along with the icon doesn't have any effect on the computer and it's working without any problems. Get info shows: capacity 1.89 GB, available 1.89 GB, Format MS-DOS (FAT16) and it says created on Monday December 31, 1979. Any way to get rid of it for good? Thanks for a reply and any solution.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro, 2.4GHz Core2 Duo 10.6.8, MacMini
Since upgrading to 10.5.3 my Philips MP3 player, that used to show as Philips now shows as "NO NAME". I'm not totally sure if it has to do with the update or reinstalling the firmware for the MP3 player totally, but it works so it didn't bug me much... Your "NO NAME" might be something similar, so check what's connected by usb maybe? Have you tried a 'get info' on it and maybe that might help for others to guide you as to what to do with it?

Reaction score
Have you got a 2GB USB stick (Or MP3 player etc.) attached to your Mac by any chance?

OP
S
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs