Need help deciding what to buy

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Pre-purchased MBP, 30 GB Video Ipod
Hey guys, Im switching from a dell to a Mac. I was waiting til today to see if there was anything substantial from the keynote speech, but theres no way ill wait for snow leopard. But anyways, Im looking to get a macbook pro mainly for the dedicated video card. Now as for the other options on the pro, im pretty unfamilar. I know I want 4 gigs of memory and read that its way cheaper to not get it from apple. How easy is it to put in. I've never done anything inside a computer before. Also, what are your suggestions on a hard drive, all of the options have plenty of space for me, and i already have a 250gb external drive, the speeds of the drives make me want the 7200rpm, but im not sure how of a difference it will be. And last question is about the processors, which one would you recommend? i want the 15 in mbp and i im not sure on how much of a difference there is between the 2.4-2.5 and 2.6 ghz processors. thanks!

T

todd51

Hey there and welcome to the forums!

I have an older 15" MBP and I must say it's fantastic! I would definiately recommend it to anyone I know.

Yes, it is quite a bit cheaper to simply upgrade the ram yourself. Depending on what you'll be doing on the laptop, I suggest getting at least 2Gb. If money is no problem for you, then just go ahead and order more online. It's not too tough to install yourself. There are even videos on Youtube that you can find on how to install the ram, just make sure that you purchase the right kind. We can help you out with that around here if you have any questions on the memory upgrades.

From the sounds of it, I don't think you need to upgrade the hard drive. I don't notice a huge difference between speeds of the drives.