Which MBP?

Reaction score
I am a Windows User that has been wanting to Switch to Mac for ever a year now and Apple is finally running a sale again....
I am a beginning photographer (hobby not career) so I want to be able to do any and all photo editing, I don't want anything to hold me back.
I also want to edit videos same as with photo editing I don't want the computer to hold me back.
I may do some gaming on it but I will probably always have a Windows Based PC for serious gaming.
But mainly I am buying the MBP for fun. I don't actually neeeed one for school, I have been in College for almost 4 years now and haven't ever really needed a lap top.

So I am looking at the different MBP's on the apple site & I am not sure what exact features I want and I am looking for Input.

15" VS 17"
A Difference of $300 bucks Base Price...
I will be using it mainly at my house, occasionaly at a Starbucks or in a library/book store, vacation... The main thing I like about the 17" is the option for the High Res Display, I think that may make me get the 17... what do ya'll think?

Ram 2 vs 4.... Seriously 180 bucks to add 2 gigs of ram? Would upgrading the ram aftermarket be just as easy as doing it in a PC? How much is aftermarket ram?

HDD I want the 7200 RPM for faster access, I have a 500gb external so 200GB onboard will be fine for me.

If I get the 17" I will be getting the hi res version for 90 bucks.

iWork... for 70 bucks... I don't know if I'll ever have a reason to use it... does it come with anything standard for creating documents?

As for Final cut & Aperture 2 ... I think sticking with the included editing software until I master it is a good idea.

I want a .mac membership so thats 70 bucks.

Apple Care.... 3 years of full coverage on my mac? Good idea? I cannot imagine buying this... theres not much inside of this computer that can break and 1 year from now I cannot replace myself for 240 bucks imo.

$2,400, 15", 2.5G, 200GB, 7200RPM, 2G ram, 1 year .Mac
vs