internet sometimes fast sometimes slow

Reaction score
im new to mac. i just got my imac last sunday so i guess its been like a week now. anyways...after my mac has been on for a while my internet becomes really slow. it takes a longer for sites to load that it usually should. then when i restart my computer it goes back to the regular speed and its fast again.

also ichat keeps disconnecting but audium, skype, and yahoo dont. could this be an internet problem that anyone can help me with or is this a problem with my mac?

i keep thinking i might have a virus or something cuz this is what it was like before on my pc where the internet gets really slow.

i have cable internet and its connected directly to my mac

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini i5 (2014 High Sierra), iPhone X, Apple Watch, iPad Pro 12.9, AppleTV (4)
Are you fully patched up to 10.5.3 via Software Update?

OP
M
Reaction score
no i havent downloaded it yet

does that update make that big of a difference for internet speed?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook, 2.2 GHz, 4GB RAM
Mitch,

Almost no chance for a virus on your Mac, so put your mind to ease there. Could also just be a slowdown by your provider. I have that problem with Verizon cable from time to time.

There are a lot of improvements with 10.5.3, so it could help.

Noel

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini i5 (2014 High Sierra), iPhone X, Apple Watch, iPad Pro 12.9, AppleTV (4)
no i havent downloaded it yet

does that update make that big of a difference for internet speed?

It's got a lot of tweaks and fixes in it. Definitely worth getting fully updated. Then try it again and post back with the results.

OP
M
Reaction score
k i got the update a few hours ago and have been testing it out and its made my mac a whole lot better internet-wise

the speed doesnt slow down anymore and my downloads are going a lot quicker

thanks for the help :)

Reaction score
I'm having a similar problem.