Aluminum Keyboard

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm still a relative newbie but getting to know and enjoying this system. I can't get the brightness controls on my keyboard to work even though I've downloaded the most recent updates. Any clues?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
Are any of the other buttons working, like the Expose, Dashboard, and volume keys?

If not, then you may have disabled the function keys. Go to System Preferences and click on Keyboard & Mouse. Under the keyboard tab, check to see whether the "Use all F1, F2, etc. keys as standard function keys" option is enabled.

OP
J
Reaction score
Are any of the other buttons working, like the Expose, Dashboard, and volume keys?

If not, then you may have disabled the function keys. Go to System Preferences and click on Keyboard & Mouse. Under the keyboard tab, check to see whether the "Use all F1, F2, etc. keys as standard function keys" option is enabled.

The volume and expose keys were working before I enabled the feature; now they're not working at all.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" 2.2GHz Santa Rosa Macbook Pro - 4GB Ram - 120GB HD OS X Leopard - Windows XP
The volume and expose keys were working before I enabled the feature; now they're not working at all.
make sure you have the option that Kash was talking about Check Marked... (enabled)

also, for you keyboard backlight problem - the ambient light has to be pretty low for the keyboard backlight to be activated... If it is bright out, the keyboard backlight brightness buttons on your keyboard will not work.

OP
J
Reaction score
I still haven't been able to enable the keys but have figured out an alternative.I press Fn and the desired function key at the same time and that works.
Thanks.

make sure you have the option that Kash was talking about Check Marked... (enabled)