i will be a switcher in a few weeks, but i need some advice

Reaction score
hello,
i am finally ready to make the move to a mac, and i need some advice on some of the hardware i should choose.
now i am a student, a light/medium gamer, i do a good amount of photo editing, and a light amount of video editing.
i have decided to get the 24" iMac. however, i am not completely computer savvy, so i am not quite sure on whether i should get the 2.8 C2D or the 3.06. would i see a large speed difference between them?
also, i have decided to definitly get the 4 GBs of ram, and the 500 GB hard drive.
and would i see a large speed/visual difference between the ATI radeon 2600 pro and the Nvidia geforce 8800 gs?
i would like to keep the price of it down, but money is not a problem for me.
thank you for all of your advice in advance.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver

In real world terms you will not notice the speed difference between a 2.8 and a 3.0, so look at the 2.8 and save yourself some dollars

Also do not max out your ram at the apple store, it is much cheaper to buy your own ram from crucial and install it yourself.

As for the hard drive, if its not much extra and you don't like pulling computers apart then go for it

also. have a look at the apple refurbds, you can save a load and they are just as good as new macs

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 2015 15", Powerbook G4 17" 2004
Yer the 2.8 is best, not worth spending more when you might not notice the difference, i went for the 2.4 though.

Reaction score
I recently switched over to Mac so I'm not very "Mac Savvy" myself. I do own a small Production company where we pretty much started with Mac Pro's and I have no complaint since day one. I can't believe I wasted so much time on Windows, I'm that satisfied.