• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
IMAC
I am new to Macs. i have a new 20" Imac.
I am trying to get some video that I shot on a Sony DCR-TRV240 digital camcorder into Imovie.
I connected the USB cable from the camcorder to the USB slot on the keyboard. I set the camera to VCR and hit play. The Mac does not seem to see this camcorder connected to it. It just turns on the insight camera. My camcorder does not show up on the drop down menu.
I watched the tutorial, and it said to set the camcorder dial to a PC setting. I only seem to have a VCR or Camera setting.

I'm sure there is a simple solution for this. I am very raw at this. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
Have you tries connecting the camera up to the usb port at the back of the screen.

Sometimes, if a device is suing too much power, the keyboard usb port cannot handle the load

Reaction score