VmWare Fusion and Autocad

Reaction score
Hi there,

I am an architecture student working my way through college and am investing in an new imac come september. I just had a few questions before I make my final decision on the setup of my computer.
I was told that VmWare Fusion was probably not the best way to go if I want to run AutoCAD 2008, and to use Bootcamp because it is more stable. Is this true? Also the person that I talked to suggested that I upgrade the RAM in it to 4gz, which I can see being very useful, but is it necessary? One of the reasons that I want to run Fusion is because I hate the idea of having to reboot my computer just to use AutoCAD; and I also enjoy listening to music when I am drafting, and do not want to dublicate all of my music files onto the partitioned Windows side. Thus taking up more room on the hard drive.

Any help on this subject would be appreciated greatly, much thanks,

cheers

ryan

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
I probably wouldn't bother with virtualization in light of your AutoCAD needs. AutoCAD is a pretty heavy-hitter and although the newest versions of VMWare and Parallels have some limited 3D support, it's pretty weak and doesn't offer the full performance potential of your video card. AutoCAD is one of those apps that will benefit greatly from being run natively (i.e. via Boot Camp).

OP
W
Reaction score
Thanks for the reply. I do mainly 2D in AutoCAD, not to much rendering and all, mostly floor plans, would that affect the performance of the video card at all? I am just trying to get the best solution because I have heard many different things. Some people have told me that if I were to bump up the ram to 4gz and devote 2gz to the windows side that it should be fine. What are your thoughts?

thanks in advance

Ryan

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs