Performance in WoW compared to Windows.

Reaction score
Howdy!

A while ago I bought a MacBook Pro since I wanted to learn more about mac and OSX. I have been coding and working in different types of Linux/UNIX enviroments and of course a lot in Windows too. I am primarily a coder but also an administrator. Since I knew very litte about mac I decided that I needed to get some experience with the machine. I adored my MacBook. It's wonderful! I love the operating system and I am eager to start coding some in it.

However - I am not only a coder, I am also a huge fan of World of Warcraft and I play it A LOT (I even have a wife who is hooked so I have another one pushing to play more in my home - no, no kids yet).

So I decided to switch from the crappy windows OS to Mac even on my stationary computer and bought a Mac Pro. It arrived and it was a disaster!!! :( :Angry:
I got WAY worse performance on the Mac Pro then I have on my windows machine.

Now I am far from an expert on hardware - I can build a windows machine if you give me all the parts in a bag - but I don't know which CPU is for which socket type and stuff so when I present the hardware here be patient if I don't express myself 100% correct.

Machine I have (Windows XP):
1 Intel Core2 Quad 2.66GHz processor
4 gb internal memory
NVidia GeForce 8800 GTX 756 mb graphic card.

With this hardware I get 50-60 fps in central Shattrath with ALL graphic settings turned up to max, everything enabled in 1920x1200 at 4x multisample.
Something I am *not* entirely pleased with since this means that on raids I dip down to a minimum of 25 fps. I would like a guranteed minimum of 50 fps in the worst raids.

Okie, so I though "I buy a really cool Mac Pro and the fps will be better and I can start exploring the Mac OSX for real". So I bought this:
Mac Pro with
2 3.0GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
4 gb internal memory
NVidia GEForce 8800 GT 512 mb graphic card.