Hey, new here and some questions

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Air, iPod Touch, iMac 20" 2.4 GHz
Hi! My name's Alicia.

Well, my current laptop (a three year old Gateway) is kind of falling apart a bit (one of the keys has come off and I can't snap it back on!). It still works alright but gets hung up a lot more often than it used to and certain programs I use and need crash a lot. So basically I'm looking at getting a new laptop when I'm on break back in the States in June.

I know I want to switch to Apple, that's a given. My dilemma is whether to choose the MacBook or the MacBook Air. I'm studying in London (ie traveling heavily with a quarters worth of stuff), and go to school almost every day. I wouldn't mind taking my laptop with me to use between classes/at lunch/in the library if it didn't add so much weight in my bag. I'm also applying to law school this fall so I'll probably continue to be using this computer in the same manner there as well (if I get in). I guess what I'm getting at is portability is a huge point for me and is really causing me to lean towards the Air, although I do recognize the MacBook is nearly as portable. I've asked other places and have universally heard "don't get the Air, it's not meant to be someone's main computer!" I recognize that it's largely to due to the lack of optical drive which is why I'd plan to buy the superdrive. I also know the specs of the Air aren't as strong or as upgradeable as the MacBook or MBP. Lastly my school here and both the law schools I've looked at have campus wide WiFi as well as my home so that's handy either way. I have the money for either really.