MacBook Pro...?

Reaction score
Hi everyone, new to the forum, looking for some help...

I've been using PC and normal lap tops for my whole life, I've never used a Mac before, only the iPod touch 32 gb if that counts as "Mac experience".

I have the money to spend on a top of the line Mac Book Pro (with all the top components selected) right now. I was kinda decided on getting the Mac cause after having my iPod for a month I think that if Apple was able to create such a brilliant piece of gear like that, their computers must be awesome...

But, now I have some doubt. I'm planning on spending about 4 grand on a TOP notebook, a computer that will be used for semi-pro music recording (a lot of it), architecture (autocad) and general internet stuff. Having that amount of money I saw the HP HDX 20.1 inch lap top online and after configuring it with the top components (Extreme processor, 4 gigs ram, 8800 GTS graphics card, etc) and the price was almost the same as a top MacBook Pro (about 3900 bucks for the HP and 3700 for the HDX).

What I need to know is... how can you compare each computer since apparently, the HDX is much more powerful with lots of useful stuff, while the Mac Book Pro is very limited, so to speek. Why should I choose a Mac Book Pro over the HDX, I mean there must be some reason why having almost the same price as a better featured laptp...

Need your help guys, please do!

Leo

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15"MacBook Pro 2.7 GHz i7 (2013) | 15"MacBook Pro 2.6GHz (2018) both OS 10.14.1 | iPhone 6 OS 12.1