New to Mac, which laptop?

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I am totally new to the whole mac scene and i am going crazy trying to figure out what laptop to purchase so maybe someone can help me. I have narrowed it down to 3. Just so you know i have never used a mac before but have done alot of research and know i want one! I will be using it mostly for college, web surfing, photos, ect. pretty much just a basic user, but I don't want it to be slow (very impatient...probably due to using PC's for so long :) ). I would like bluetooth and i am pretty sure all the ones i have picked out offer it. I am trying to keep it around $1100 which is why i picked the ones i did. Please let me know which one would be best for me. Thanks

here are my picks:
2.1 ghz version $1099
http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebObjects/AppleStore.woa/wa/RSLID?nnmm=browse&mco=MTE3MzI&node=home/shop_mac/family/macbook

1.5 or 1.67 ghz version $699-799 (my top pic because of price, if it's a decent model)
http://www.wegenermedia.com/alum15.htm

Referbished mac book pro, 1.83 ghz model $1099 (how much better than regular mac book?)

http://www.wegenermedia.com/macbookpro.htm
Thanks for your help ;)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.53Ghz, 4GB ram, 500gb hd -- Apple TV 160gb -- MacMini 1.83ghz
I'd take the 2.1 MacBook, but as long as you upgrade the RAM. 4GB kits go for ~$90. From what you said the computer will be for, a dedicated video card is not necessary, so the PowerBook and the MB Pro as not needed. The question is the screen size: 13" is enough for you? Will you use the notebook with an external monitor?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac (Aluminum), MacBook (Core Duo), iPod (Classic), 16GB iPhone 3G
I 2nd that. I'd go for the 2.1 MacBook.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook, 2.2 GHz, 4GB RAM
pnut312,

Welcome to the forum.