Think I need a script

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2.2GHz OSX10.5.2
Hi there,

I am a newbie to my new Macbook. I have tried using the Spaces application. I am running 10.5.2 OSX. What I want to do is on Startup, have iTunes start up and have it open my iTunes library on an external drive. Does anyone know how I can do this?

Thanks and I look forward to your reply.

...C

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini i5 (2014 High Sierra), iPhone X, Apple Watch, iPad Pro 12.9, AppleTV (4)
Hi there,

I am a newbie to my new Macbook. I have tried using the Spaces application. I am running 10.5.2 OSX. What I want to do is on Startup, have iTunes start up and have it open my iTunes library on an external drive. Does anyone know how I can do this?

...C

Welcome to the forum :)

To have app (like iTunes) run at startup(from the Apple Site):
1. Log in as the user who wishes to have a login item or as an admin user.
2. Choose System Preferences from the Apple menu.
3. Choose Accounts from the View menu.
4. Click the name of the user.
5. Click the Startup Items button
6. Click the "Add {+}" button.

As far using an external library . . do you have an existing library already? Where is it at the moment?

OP
C
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
My external library is already created(built it from my Windows PC) and it resides on an external hard drive.

I have been told that in order to open it up on startup in iTunes I would need to mount the external hard drive and then get iTunes to open the library.

Essentially what I am trying to achieve here is to load up SPACES(Leopard)

I am very new to this, so if you could give me as much help as possible (how do you mount an external hard drive, etc) it would be great.

...CP

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini i5 (2014 High Sierra), iPhone X, Apple Watch, iPad Pro 12.9, AppleTV (4)
My external library is already created(built it from my Windows PC) and it resides on an external hard drive.