VS Developer

Reaction score
Hello all

I'd like some general advice on choosing a mac. I've fancied switching over to Mac for a few years but because of University and now my job role I've always been ushered into using a PC. However now because of the Intel chips dual O/S's seem very possible and manageable.

Breif background is I'm a software developer using VS2005 / VS2008, SQL Management Studio and a few other seemingly Windows specific apps both at work and I want access to them at home too. From what I've read so far VS is not Mac compatible and not sure about SQL MS so I have the choice of either bootcamp or emulation (Parralells or VMware). Also from reading Bootcamp seems to be the more stable option as the work I'll be doing will be CPU & RAM intensive.

I'd guess OS X would take over general surfing / music / research etc but I do need access to a Windows platform because of work and playing around with new stuff thats related to VS / SQL.

So far I'm thinking along the lines of a MacBook Pro with upgraded RAM, then setup XP SP2 through bootcamp for all my developemnt orientated work where OS X takes over general use. I suppose I've answered many of my inital questions I had when I started this thread, however, further opinons and comments would also be welcome.

Regards,
Mike

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD