• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

iMovie is eating my HD space

Reaction score
OK ... total newbie here , but my wife has been bugging me to get our old 8mm video onto the computer and then on to DVD. I started downloading our tapes and ...WOW.... memory gobbler !:Oops: Is something wrong ? That seems to me to be a lot of DVD's I'll need to convert. Any hints on what I really should be doing would be helpful. BTW , I'm using iMovie 06.

Thanks to any and all help !!
G

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15", 2.66GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB RAM, OS X 10.8.2, iPad 1, 80gb iPod, ATV 1, iPhone 5
Well since nobody else has chimed in, I will. Video takes up a lot of room. You should really consider an external hard drive for storage. Secondly, after you have edited your videos and exported them to iDVD to burn them they will be compressed onto the DVD. You will get about an hour of playtime on a standard DVD, I think. What I do after burning DVDs is make a disc image and store that as it is compressed and delete the original files. Then I can make however many DVDs from the saved image I want.

rman

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14in MacBook Pro M1 Max 32GB 2TB