Thinking of Getting a new (to me) Desktop, Your Thoughts?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2013 iMac 3.5GHz quad-core Intel Core i7/32G Ram Graphics NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780M 4096 MB, iPhone 6
I currently use a 2013 iMac (specs on side) for my work. I am a residential designer and use Autocad and SolidBuilder (both windows versions). After my second crash on my iMac I decided I should look into another desktop for times when I may have issues and would have a backup computer. This would beat sitting at my desk looking at a blank space on my desk.

I was thinking of a refurbished 2015 iMac from Apple as my 2013 iMac was a refurbished one. So far the spec's I have on the 2013 seem to fit my needs so a new one would be similar. Refurbished Mac Pro's are still a little pricey on Apple, actually today's refurb listing on Apple's website is even more than the one shown below. Typically that have been running around $2500.

I came across this today, an Apple refurbished Mac Pro being offered from a third party vendor that I have purchased from many times without issue.

Apple (Late 2013) FD878LL/A Mac Pro Workstation, Intel Xeon E5-1650 v2 6-Core 3.5GHz, Dual AMD Fire Pro D500 3GB, 256GB PCIe SSD, 16GB DDR3, 802.11ac, Bluetooth, MacOS 10.9 Mavericks for $2700.

What is the downside of the Mac Pro vs iMac? I'm good on large monitors and external hard drives. Any questions I should ask the vendor? Anything in particular I should be looking at?

I trust the members opinions on this forum better than mine since I've only been back in the Mac world for a couple of years and so much has changed from the days of system 7.3.

Thanking everyone in advance for their thoughts.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
After my second crash on my iMac I decided I should look into another desktop for times when I may have issues and would have a backup computer.

What sort of "crash" are we talking about?