Should I buy a new iMac?

Reaction score
So I am in the market for a new iMac. I have wanted one since they first came out but only now have got the cash(kinda convienent now that they have figured out most of the bugs:Smirk:)). I particularly want the 27 inch i7 iMac. I am a photography student so the big (ips)screen would be great for editing photos now that color accuracy seems to be pretty good. Also I do a lot of photo merging(panoramics) and HDR. When working on photos I always have photoshop and lightroom open at the same time. So I could definitely use the i7 processor. Especially with 64-bit processing coming on CS5 and LightRoom 3. My question is whether you think I should wait for the iMacs to be upgraded. I have been looking at this iMac Buyer's Guide - Mac Guides and I think maybe I should wait. However I feel like the upgrade will be incremental and maybe not worth the wait. If I buy now I will wait until a refurbished i7 shows up on apples site to save some money. If I wait I will have to wait but will have the latest and greatest(but pay a little more). I am just not sure if it is worth it or not. Also it is really close to summer and I won't be using it heavily until late August. What do you guys think? Sorry about the long post.:Oops:

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
The iMac just got an upgrade in late 2009 and will not be getting an upgrade for a while to come..and now that the screen issues have been deal with..I think it's a good time to pick up an iMac..

I went the refurbished route to get my i7 iMac and couldn't be happier..

Regards

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini, i5, SSD & 1TB, 8 GB