macbook pro not reading partition volume from external drive

Reaction score
My Macbook Pro (late 2007) OSX 10.6.8 is not reading a 3 TB partitioned volume from my external drive (Seagate 4 TB) that contains my music. I played music from the Finder last night before shutting down. The shut down was text book and smooth. This morning, it only read the 1TB CCC volume. Disk Utility shows the Music volume greyed out. I have been using this external drive for the last 3 years without a problem.

Any ideas what could have happened? Was there a problem while shutting down? The USB wire is a little loose, but if it shows the 1TB volume it ought to show the 3 TB as well, right? It won't let me eject the disk and I have to Force Eject -- "The disk Seagate CCC 1 TB wasn't ejected because one or more programs may be using it". I've tried booting in safe mode and ran Onyx as well.

Please help. It's a lifetime of music from LPs, 8-tracks, tapes and CDS.

Thank you,

Saxena

Last edited:
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 Mac Studio, 11" iPad Pro 3rd Gen, iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch Series 7, AirPods Pro
I hope you have a backup of your music file somewhere else? You mentioned 3 TB out of the drives 4 TB, what is the rest? Also, have you tried shut down, disconnect the drive, and start up again?

OP
D
Reaction score
Thanks, Bob. The Music volume is 3 TB (the typo has been corrected in my original post). Also, I ran Onyx and Safe Mode boot up. Yes, I do have a back up, but haven't synced up for the last six months.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Yes, I do have a back up, but haven't synced up for the last six months.

Now might be a good time to sync your music to the backup. It sounds like perhaps your 3 TB drive may have problems. Also... your MacBook Pro is getting old along with the version of OS X you're using. ;)

OP
D
Reaction score
UPDATE --