M2 Mini won't wake Asus monitor from sleep

Reaction score
I recently bought an M2 Mac Mini and an Asus PA278CV monitor. If I connect the two via an HDMI cable, the Mac will wake the monitor when I wake it from sleep. But when I connect the two with the USB-C cable that came with the monitor, it doesn't. Looking through various forums, I see I'm not the only Mini user with this problem. I've contacted Asus support to see if they have any idea why it's not working, but they've been spectacularly unhelpful. I'm now wondering if it might be something to do with the cable. Would it make any difference if I used a Thunderbolt 4 cable? Or am I simply clutching at straws?

IWT

Reaction score
Born Scotland. Worked all over UK. Live in Wales
Your Mac's Specs
M2 Max Studio Extra, 32GB memory, 4TB, Sonoma 14.4.1 Apple 5K Retina Studio Monitor
I am no expert in this, but it seems to me that the HDMI cable is the one that is meant to be used.

As I understand things, that's what HDMI cables do. The cable that came with the Monitor is general purpose and possibly not suitable for your purpose.

Ian

OP
G
Reaction score
I am no expert in this, but it seems to me that the HDMI cable is the one that is meant to be used.

As I understand things, that's what HDMI cables do. The cable that came with the Monitor is general purpose and possibly not suitable for your purpose.

Ian
HDMI works perfectly well, but the advantage of USB-C is that it carries the video signal (up to 4k) in addition to the data stream. So, in theory, a single cable should suffice if you're using the monitor as a USB hub. And it does work – except for when it comes to waking the monitor. I suspect a Thunderbolt cable might be the answer, but at the exorbitant price Apple are asking for one I'll happily continue waking my monitor with a press of the power button.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15