iPhone 11 xs problem with money vanishing?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 27" 2017 32 G ram MB Pro 2012 16 G ram iPad Air ser 5 2017 iPhone 11 xs max 256.
I think this is probably my fault but:
I put a fairly large amount of money £50 on this iPhone for telephone calls, I have phoned out (Local only) about 5 or 6 times for no more than 4 minutes a call, but was then informed that there was only 80 pence left and I would need to top up?
I need to know what I should disable in Settings to stop my iPhone from eating my money, but I am new to mobile phones so I need some guidance please?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2023-14" M3max MBPro, 64GB/1TB, iPhone 15 Pro, Watch Ultra
Regardless of what phone you have it connects to a cellular provider who charges you for their services. Those services usually include voice calls, messages/text, and data/internet service.

Without knowing your plan I can tell you the easiest way to stop unknown accesses by your iPhone is to turn off cellular data - Settings -> Cellular -> Cellular Data. You can tweak the setting if you want some Cellular Data.

Next go to Settings -> Privacy -> Location and turn off Location Services. That will shut off all apps from "phoning home" to check for all kinds of stuff. Keep in mind email will be included.

I think that will get everything but it will get cellphone calls and text messages.

If you want to also shut off text messages I would recommend doing that with your carrier but you can also go to Settings -> Messages and turn them off there too.

If I forgot anything I am sure others will chime in.

Lisa

OP
Willabong
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 27" 2017 32 G ram MB Pro 2012 16 G ram iPad Air ser 5 2017 iPhone 11 xs max 256.
I'll try what you suggested, my phone is on a pay as you go setup?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2023-14" M3max MBPro, 64GB/1TB, iPhone 15 Pro, Watch Ultra
I assumed you were on a pay as you go. Try what I suggested and hopefully that will work.