File Structure - User Data

Reaction score
I am trying to recover data from a MacBookPro with an HFS+ file system. I have imaged the whole drive and then opened the image using a data recovery program. However, I can't see any user account whatsoever.
I thought ther was a USERS folder with any user accounts in there but I don't seem to see anything. My imaging program seemed to clone nearly all of the disk successfully with only a very small area containing bad sectors (less than 1%). Am I doing something wrong here?

As you can see I have little experience of this OS.

The computer seemed to be running High Sierra.

I've attached a picture of what seems to be there..

MacCapture2.png

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 Mac Studio, 11" iPad Pro 3rd Gen, iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch Series 7, AirPods Pro
Have you opened any of the Folders? "usr" for example?

OP
A
Reaction score
Nothing that looked like user data. I'm scanning with another product at the moment to see what that can find.

OP
A
Reaction score
It also looks like High Sierra only uses APFS not HFS+ which is what this disk seems to be formatted with.. It must be using an earlier OS. I only guessed at High Sierra as there is an installation folder there.

OP
A
Reaction score
I'm stumped. If I use a data recovery product that works with APFS then it says it can't find any such drive. If I use one that works with HFS+ it just finds the files and folders shown in the image posted earlier. I can understand the files being corrupted and not being available but not the whole user account.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 Mac Studio, 11" iPad Pro 3rd Gen, iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch Series 7, AirPods Pro
In my Macintosh HD directory I have,

Applications
Library
Systems &
Users

everything else are hidden files and folders.

Since you don't have a Users folder, you won't have access to any of their data.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs