Delete videos from School 5th gen Nano

Reaction score
I have a nano that was given to me when I enrolled into a college and it has instructional videos on it. If possible I would like to save the files but I just really want to DELETE all files and be able to use the iPod for music.

I have tried "resetting" the iPod, but that doesn't affect the files. How do I wipe this clean?

Thanks!

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Ask the IT person at your school. Obviously, the Nano they gave you is a special version which is supposed to be used for instructional purposes.

Regards.

OP
V
Reaction score
no no....

So I graduated from this school and don't want any of the lectures/videos/information that is currently stored on the iPod and blocking me from using this iPod as a music player. It was used for instructional purposes, now those purposes have ended.

How do I DELETE all the data currently stored on it and make it functional for music use? It's worthless to me without this ability.

I would rather not go buy a new iPod when I have one already--that just wouldn't be very environmentally friendly or sensible.

thanks!

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
We were not aware of your current situation when you first posted. And, according to your first post, you tried doing a reset from iTunes and it wouldn't work. Is that correct?

If it won't reset from iTunes, try putting the Nano in hard disk mode, open it in Finder or Explorer (if you're using Windows) and see if you can delete the files manually. You didn't mention which format the Nano was using. It can use either the Mac format (HFS+) or PC format (FAT-32).